You have the power….Use it!

you-have-the-powerI’m very aware of the fact that every time I turn on my television and flip through the channels, i’ll come across some show I don’t enjoy. I’m not a fan of horror movies, I don’t care for those non-reality, reality shows and i’m not big on daytime talk shows; just not my thing. I do understand that there are people who live and breathe for the shows I choose not to watch because they aren’t my cup of tea. I don’t knock your flow when it comes to being entertained by what works for you. My problem comes when people have real live internet arguments and cyber-fights over a show that someone else loves, but another person hates. The arguments are often between people who don’t even know each other. Social media allows us all to connect with people across the globe who have similar or not similar likes and dislikes, but when I see literal fights with cursing and threats, all I say to myself is which one of you are so heated that you can’t see that you have the power to turn them off. One person loves a show, the other hates it and both can’t understand there is a block/ignore feature. People are so angry over crazy little things like the plot of a television show. There are some shows I live to watch every single week and some I even watch over and over again because of the entertainment factor. When it comes to a show I don’t care for, I just use the power that lies in my hands. What is that power you ask? It’s the power to change the channel. Here is the process for anyone who just can’t get it because they are so lit. First, you pick up the remote control, that piece of equipment that you used to get you to the channel where the show is playing that you don’t like and then (now wait for it because this is a power and enlightening statement I’m about to hit you with), you click the buttons and you find another channel!! (drops the mic). That one move gives you so much power, you won’t know what to do with yourself. Should you find something you like, maybe listen to the music channel and chill out or perhaps, now this is an incredible option to, how about turn the television off! (Now that’s saying something right there!) Either way, you have the power to move beyond what you don’t want to lay your eyes on. Instead, you decide you’re going to take your anger out on someone who likes what you don’t like. I can sit here forever and write about all of the things I don’t like in this world, but what I won’t do is get into a cyber fight with a stranger or with a friend about something I chose to continue watching though I don’t like it, it disgusts me or I don’t find it entertaining. Its a television show, those are actors and they making a living at what you ask? Yes, they make a living at entertaining you. If you’re not entertained, use that ultimate power and change the channel. I read a conversation where someone was called a sell out because they watched a Maury show. (I think that’s the name of the show). The guy was called a sellout because he enjoyed the craziness of the show and the person who called him that name did so because he said its insulting to our race to watch a show and continue to let people make money from us folks acting a fool. Again, it’s entertainment. If that’s what works for him, to lighten his day, makes him smile and forget about serious concerns in his life, let him be. I don’t care for those types of shows either and I could write many, many blogs about why, but I find it hard to understand fighting with someone on the internet, name calling and being insulting simply because it’s a show you don’t like. What amazed me even more is that they name caller gave examples of various episodes that he found disgraceful which in my book means he watched more than one. Why? If you hate it and find it demeaning, why did you continue to watch beyond one episode then go to the internet, search for twitter hashtag that took you to people who glorify the show only to then bash them with post after post after post? Houston, I think there’s a problem!! I’m just saying, forget that Chuck D said “Fight the Power” and use that power to gain control over your option to not look insane. Go ahead and change that channel; I dare you. I want to hear you put that Superman/Superwoman “S” on your chest and declare that you have the power and you’re going to use it and let that anger rest easy for a real situation.  Remember, you have the power!

Leave a Reply

