The Reason Why I Write

unbreak cover photo

I learned a lot about myself after Prince passed away. I learned that what I write and pretty much what I do, I do because I want to and not to please anyone else.  How did I learn this about myself from Prince? Prince was an enigma, a puzzling kind of character. There were lots of things he could have done to follow the status-quo and been like everyone else, but he didn’t choose that route. Prince chose to be Prince. He dressed in a way that people would normally question a man’s sexuality, but women found him sexy and I’m no exception to that. He wore a perm and puffy shirts, high heeled shoes sometimes higher than I would wear and he once even wore a pair of pants with the behind cut out so that his actual behind showed through. That was hot! He was Prince and he was one of a kind.

I liked that he wrote the kind of music that he wanted to write and he didn’t care if some liked it and others didn’t; he was content with putting out what was on his mind to put out at any given time. That’s how I feel about my writing and it’s why I continue to write no matter what. I have seen people all over their social media accounts gripe because someone leaves them a bad review on their book. My response to that is don’t read it. I understand we get into this not just to write, but to make money from what we put out there. Anyone who states otherwise is lying to their audience and to themselves. To some people ratings are everything. I’ve had people inbox me and email me offering me a free rating for free copies of my books or for a small fee. I didn’t bite nor will I ever.  The reason why I write is because I love to tell a story.  Some people like my books, others don’t and they have every right to do so, but I don’t let anything negative keep me from continuing with my plight to write a new novel every time a new storyline strikes me.

My latest release, “Un-Break My Heart” was touchy because I wondered how to I spin a story about a man who died and his best friend ends up falling in love with his wife. I know that in the minds of most, because the wife was married to his best friend, she is now and forever off limits. Some see it as crossing a forbidden line whether the husband has passed away or not, but I see things differently.  In “Un-Break My Heart” Dr. Mackenzie Ellis thought  she was living the perfect life and that perfection died the day she received the word that her husband, Kyle was killed in the line of duty while protecting another family. Her heart was broken and she was settling into a life that she knew still had to go on, but she was planning to mourn forever thinking no man would ever be able to replace her Kyle. Surprising herself, the man who made her heart beat again was someone close to her and turned out to be the man who had been her husband’s best friend. Should I have stayed away from a storyline like that because the masses would say that they should never cross that line. I say you should follow love wherever it leads and to whomever it leads you to. That friend wouldn’t risk taking his feelings for her for granted knowing the impact it could have on those around them, especially the family of the husband who passed way. I want ahead with the story because it’s what I wanted to write about. I love pushing the envelope.

I told the story and I tried to do so in a way that the decision for the two of them wasn’t an easy one and it should not have been. They should have struggled with the feelings that were developing and even after they were intimate, there should still be some reservations and I told that side as well. “Un-Break My Heart” is a true testament that you may not always be able to turn away from love coming from any direction.

When I started on this path, I wondered what I would write about past the first book. I didn’t know I would be three years in and 18 novels later and still going at it strong. I’m not a rich woman from writing all of these books, but there is a great level of satisfaction every time I look at one of my books with my name scrawled across it.  I enjoy getting emails and inbox messages on social media from people who read them and tell me how much they enjoyed them. That’s the reason why I write. I do it first for me and I write what I want to write and I pray that with each novel, I am improving on my writing skills.  I do it second for those who need that “Calgon take me away” kind of moments. I’ve read many books over the years just to escape everyday life and to take my mind to a place of peace and happiness which is what I found in the stories I read. My books sell pretty good and I’m thankful for that. I told myself that even if I was the only person who bought a copy of my own book, I wouldn’t let that keep me from staying on this path. Writing, formatting, editing and publishing a book is not easy work at all and for all that I put into getting a book out, that’s enough to make me smile. I remember that I write the kind of stories I want to write and if someone likes it also, I’m happy and if not, I’m still happy because I accomplished something major the minute I put the book out for the masses to read.

Im thankful that I have a reason to write other than money because if it was all about that, I wouldn’t be doing it.  One day perhaps I will be a million dollar seller and if so, I’ll be excited and looking forward to another million dollar seller, but until that day, I’ll continue to write because I like to write and hopefully there is someone who likes to read what I write. I’m not as perfect a writer as others and I know I can still use a lot of work, but I put my all into every book and if they seem different than what the masses are putting out, that’s fine as long as each day when I rise, I smile knowing I accomplished something others only dream about.

I’ve decided to follow Prince’s lead and stand on my path alone and stay the path whether what I write is well received or not. I’m having fun writing and putting out what I want to put out and for that, I’m a happy camper.  If you have a dream or a goal, don’t let anything keep you from following that dream or achieving that goal. Do what you do for you first and for others second. You’ll feel a personal sense of satisfaction when you can smile at what you’ve done and say, “Job well done”!!!!!

Take a look at my new release at Un-Break My Heart. Be on the look out for what’s coming up next because trust, there is a new book already in the making.  There is no stopping this train as long as I can still write and as long as the vision for new storylines continue to be fed to my mind.  I’m ready for more…are you?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

